Commencement Weekend
May 11 - 13, 2018

Honorary Degree Recipients

Duke recognizes honorary degree recipients at the university-wide commencement ceremony in May. This year's honorary degree recipients will be announced around March 2018. Listed below are recipients from the last 12 years. For a complete list, please visit the Board of Trustees' website:

Clayton Christensen, Doctor of Humane Letters
George Church, Doctor of Science
Deborah Lee James, Doctor of Laws
The Honorable Loretta E. Lynch, Doctor of Laws
Stanley Nelson, Doctor of Humane Letters
Marilynne Robinson, Doctor of Humane Letters
Luis von Ahn, Doctor of Science

William FoegeDoctor of Science
Risa Lavizzo-MoureyDoctor of Humane Letters
Charlie RoseDoctor of Humane Letters
Natasha TretheweyDoctor of Humane Letters
Srinivasa VaradhanDoctor of Science

France Córdova, Doctor of Science
Michael Feinberg and David Levin, Doctor of Humane Letters (jointly)
Renée Fleming, Doctor of Arts
Rakesh Jain, Doctor of Science
Harold Mooney, Doctor of Science
McCoy Tyner, Doctor of Arts

Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Doctor of Science
Erskine B. Bowles, Doctor of Laws
Susan M. Hockfield, Doctor of Humane Letters
Walter Isaacson, Doctor of Humane Letters
W. Delano Meriwether, Doctor of Science

Marguerite Barankitse (Maggy), Doctor of Humane Letters 
Max Dale Cooper, Doctor of Science        
David Sean Ferriero, Doctor of Humane Letters      
Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Doctor of Humane Letters     
Melinda Gates, Doctor of Humane Letters    
William Hunt Gross (Bill), Doctor of Laws      
Judith A. Jamison, Doctor of Arts      

James Barksdale, Doctor of Laws
Nancy Brinker, Doctor of Humane Letters
Emmylou Harris, Doctor of Arts
Darryl Hunt, Doctor of Humane Letters
Robert Coleman Richardson, Doctor of Science
Fareed Zakaria, Doctor of Humane Letters

John T. Chambers, Doctor of Science
Rita Dove, Doctor of Literature
James B. Hunt, Jr., Doctor of Laws
Alan C. Page, Doctor of Humane Letters
Lisa Randall, Doctor of Science
Eric K. Shinseki, Doctor of Humane Letters
Tan Chorh Chuan, Doctor of Science

Temple Grandin, Doctor of Humane Letters
Joel Klein, Doctor of Humane Letters
Alasdair MacIntyre, Doctor of Humane Letters
Sir John Pendry, Doctor of Science
Muhammad Yunus, Doctor of Humane Letters

Susan Athey, Doctor of Science
Michael Brown and Joseph Goldstein, Doctor of Science
James Moeser, Doctor of Letters
Mario Molina, Doctor of Science
Indra Nooyi, Doctor of Laws 
Murray Perahia, Doctor of Fine Arts
Robert Redford, Doctor of Fine Arts
Oprah Winfrey, Doctor of Humane Letters

Wendell Berry, Doctor of Literature
Helene Gayle, Doctor of Science
James Goodmon, Doctor of Laws
Barbara Kingsolver, Doctor of Humane Letters
Patricia Wald, Doctor of Laws

Anita Jones, Doctor of Science
Peter Storey, Doctor of Humane Letters
Twyla Tharp, Doctor of Fine Arts
Florence Wald, Doctor of Humane Letters

Steven Chu, Doctor of Science
Martin Eakes, Doctor of Humane Letters
Nina Totenberg, Doctor of Humane Letters
James Wyngaarden, Doctor of Science

John H. Adams, Doctor of Laws
Robin Chandler Duke, Doctor of Humane Letters
Roald Hoffmann, Doctor of Science
Freeman A. Hrabowski, Doctor of Letters
Ricardo Lagos, Doctor of Laws
Mary Robinson, Doctor of Humane Letters

Madeleine K. Albright, Doctor of Humane Letters
Richard J. Goldstone, Doctor of Laws
Phillip A. Griffiths, Doctor of Science
Oliver Smithies, Doctor of Science